Week 11

Summary:

As I just posted about my GTD implementation, I started thinking about what appeals to me most about GTD. Of course, there is its total organization and complete capture of everything in your life. There is the clean desk and inbox acheived by this system. I love all that.

But what really appeals to me is the idea of attaining a “Mind Like Water” state. I have to admit, I haven’t completely achieved this yet, as many GTDers have not. But GTD does bring me much closer to this ideal, and as I get better at the GTD habits, and trust my system more, I get closer each day.

It reminds me of a quote from Bruce Lee:

Empty your mind, be formless. Shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle and it becomes the bottle. You put it in a teapot it becomes the teapot. Now, water can flow or it can crash. Be water my friend.

I think the appeal is the calmness and peace that you are trying to achieve. Have everything in its place, and empty your mind of busy-ness and junk. Then your are ready for anything that comes your way. Sometimes when I don’t feel this way, I look at others around me, and realize that I have come a long way towards Mind Like Water.

It will be an ongoing quest. Wish me luck.

I will measure my progress and success by building a schedule around the course online: https://www.udemy.com/course/learn-python-and-ethical-hacking-from-scratch/

and

https://www.udemy.com/course/python-the-complete-python-developer-course/learn/lecture/17021310?start=60#overview

I am currently working to achieve the goal.  I have the skills, and my motivation is that this is what I want to do later in life.

I am setting this goal because it deals with code, is relevant to my life and career, and future in general.

The deadline is the end of the school year.  It is my intent to learn as much about this as I can, and if needed I will continue this project after the year ends.  I think it is realistic to at the very least get close to finishing this project by the end of the year.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Kevin Mitnick, one of the most famous hackers alive, now runs security firm Mitnick Security Counseling, LLC.

His skills not only include C++ and python hacking tools, but also phishing experience and social engineering mastery.

Primary Source:

https://www.mitnicksecurity.com/about/kevin-mitnick-worlds-most-famous-hacker-biography

Secondary Sources:

http://money.cnn.com/video/technology/2013/08/05/t-hacker-mitnick-on-nsa.cnnmoney/

http://digital.asiaone.com/digital/news/ex-hacker-reveals-tricks-trade

http://bigthink.com/think-tank/hacker-for-the-hell-of-it-the-adventures-of-kevin-mitnick

Training Source(s)

https://www.udemy.com/course/learn-python-and-ethical-hacking-from-scratch/

This course is going to teach me many things, like how to change my mac address, scan networks, write a code injector, and much more related to hacking and cybersecurity.

https://www.udemy.com/course/python-the-complete-python-developer-course/learn/lecture/17021310?start=60#overview

This course is not hacking related, but will teach me python from beginning to semi-mastery.

Project Timeline: Based on these titles

Total video time: 23:34:50

Introduction
9 lectures 01:13:27
Writing a MAC Address Changer – Python Basics
13 lectures 01:43:09
MAC Changer – Algorithm Design
6 lectures 41:42
Programming a Network Scanner
14 lectures 01:48:31
Writing an ARP Spoofer
11 lectures 01:17:39
Writing a Packet Sniffer
7 lectures 58:18
Writing a DNS Spoofer
7 lectures 57:45
Writing a File Interceptor
6 lectures 50:13
Writing a Code Injector
13 lectures 01:36:30
Bypassing HTTPS
4 lectures 38:24
Writing an ARP Spoof Detector
3 lectures 24:17
Writing Malware
10 lectures 01:28:01
Writing Malware – Keylogger
8 lectures 01:14:55
Writing Malware – Backdoors
21 lectures 02:51:27
Writing Malware – Packaging
15 lectures 02:01:30
Website / Web Application Hacking
3 lectures 16:26
Website Hacking – Writing a Crawler
8 lectures 01:09:40
Writing a Program To Guess Login Information
2 lectures 21:04
Writing a Vulnerability Scanner
15 lectures 01:59:57
Bonus Section
1 lecture 02:12

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *